Ting elected Federation of Foochow Associations Sarawak Youth chief

Tiong hands over the instrument of office as the federation Youth chief to Ting (third left) witnessed by other prominent Foochow leaders from throughout Sarawak.

KAPIT: Kapit Foochow Association reached another milestone since its establishment about 90 years ago when its youth chief Ting King Yiing was unanimously elected as the Federation of Foochow Associations Sarawak Youth chief for the 2019-2020 term recently.

He was elected to the post by the Youth wing delegates representing 20 Foochow associations throughout Sarawak at the federation youth wings’ 15th general election held at Kingwood Resort in Mukah.

Ting, a pharmacist by profession, is the second Kapit Foochow Association youth chief elected to the post. The first was Sii Bang Ee, the association immediate past chairman.

The installation ceremony of federation youth wing’s office bearers was held in Mukah inconjunction with Mukah Foochow Association’s 80th anniversary celebration. It was attended by about 1,000 members from throughout the state and witnessed by prominent Foochow leaders in Sarawak led by Tan Sri Tiong Su Kuok.

Ting has vast leadership experiences through his involvement in youth gatherings and in Methodist Hock Ing Church’s social activities where he is the church social welfare committee chairperson.

Among others he was also Lions Club Kapit past president and Kapit Division Archery Association’s chartered president.

Others elected to the federation’s youth committee for 2019 to 2020 are Allan Wong Yew Ming (Kuching) as deputy youth chief, vice youth chiefs Ling King Hang (Mukah), Tiong Sie Keong (Sibu), Ting Teck Yii (Miri), Tiang King Ung (Padawan – Kuching) and Tie Tang Hee (Bintulu).

Kwok Kho Lee (Limbang) is the secretary and assisted by Joseph Ting King Lee (Sibu) while Lau Hieng Luk (Sarikei) and Wong Kiin Ming (Matu-Dairo) are the organising secretaries.

Ngu Mee Hung (Sibu) was elected treasurer and to be assisted by Ngu Sik Hung (Sibu).

Others are Ho Huat Ling (Kuching) and Lau Pik Chine (Sibu) in charge of general affairs; Wong Yew Lian (Baram) and Wong Siew Kuok (Kuching) in charge of children and education; Wong Soon Tung (Kanowit) and Wong Chung Giek (Sibu) in charge of social welfare; Chu Pik Ting (Kuching) and Ting Pang Tung (Meradong) in charge of social recreation; Chu Sing Chung (Lawas) and Tie Teck Hie (Baram) in charge of public relations; Raymond Yii Tuan Tee (Tatau) and Thomas Wong Ha Khim (Sri Aman) in charge of information; Ting Siew Kiong and Ngieng Kok Hua (Bintulu) in charge of sports.

The ordinary committee members are Ngu Zong Xiong (Limbang), Hii Hian Hung (Kuching), Ting Yok Shieu (Miri), Wong Sie Yung (Sibu), Daren Ling Hang Hui (Padawan, Kuching) and Wong Siew Xiong (Kapit).

The post Ting elected Federation of Foochow Associations Sarawak Youth chief appeared first on Borneo Post Online.

Source: https://www.theborneopost.com/2019/04/06/ting-elected-federation-of-foochow-associations-sarawak-youth-chief/