Sarawak state election: SPDP to contest in 10 seats

BINTULU: The Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP), one of the Barisan Nasional (BN) component parties, has decided to contest in 10 state seats including two new seats in the coming 11th state election. SPDP president Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing said the two new seats are Samalaju and Mulu.

“SPDP will field Datuk Pau Chiong Ung for the Samalaju seat while for the Mulu seat it will be either party senior vice-president Dr Roland Dom Mattu or Youth chief Robert Ayu,” he said in a statement after the party’s supreme council meeting here yesterday. He said the supreme council came out with a unanimous decision to contest both the Samalaju and Mulu seats. Both Robert and Dr Roland are Kelabit and served as councillors in the Miri City Council (MCC) for years. The former is a lawyer and the latter a gynaecologist.

As for the eight seats traditionally allocated to SPDP, Tiong said the names of the candidates had been submitted to Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Adenan Satem, who is also state BN chairman.

Tiong said that the list of candidates are for Tasik Biru, Pakan, Krian, Meluan, Berkenu, Batu Danau, Ba Kelalan and Marudi.

Although he did not disclose the name of the candidates, Tiong had announced the potential candidates for several seats in April last year, namely lawyer Cila Nasu for Tasik Biru, lawyer Kilat Beriak (Krian), Belayong Jampong (Meluan) businessman Brian Fung (Pakan) and lawyer Fabian Andrew Sigar (Ba Kelalan).

He, however, said the list of the candidates was not finalised and may change based on the feedback on the ground. — Bernama