Sarawak honours lists in conjunction with Governor's birthday

SIBU: Datin Patinggi Dato Juma’ani Tuanku Bujang, the wife of the Sarawak Chief Minister, topped the list of title recipients in conjunction with the Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud’s 82nd birthday celebrations on Saturday (Oct 13).

She was conferred the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang (DA) which carries the title ‘Datuk Amar’.

The late Datuk Sri Alli Kawi, the former Sarawak police special branch chief, was also conferred with the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang (DA) (posthumous) which carries the title ‘Datuk Amar’.

Alli died of old age of 84 on July 3 this year. He was also the Sarawak deputy police chief and once played an important peacekeeping role which resulted in the success of ‘Ops Sri Aman’ to end the communist insurgency in the state.

He acted as the intermediary during the Sri Aman Treaty signing ceremony on Oct 21, 1973 involving the then chief minister, the late Tun Abdul Rahman Yaakub and Parti Rakyat Kalimantan Utara representative Bong Kee Chok.

Two others, Bintulu MP Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing and former assistant minister Datuk Sharifah Mordiah Tuanku Fauzi are the recipients of the Panglima Negara Bintang Sarawak (PNBS) which carries the title ‘Dato Sri’.

Betong MP Robert Lawson Chuat led the list of four recipients for the Panglima Gemilang Bintang Kenyalang (PGBK), which carries the title “Datuk”.

Others include Pantai Damai assemblyman Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi, former Sarawak Timber Industry Development Corporation general manager Dato Abdullah Abdul Rahim and Federation of Miri Division Chinese Associations president Hii Teck Yun.

The Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak (DJBS) award for senior civil servants which carries the title “Datu” is awarded to six recipients this year namely secretary of the state cabinet meeting committee Sutin Shamat, Urban Development and Natural Resources permanent secretary Wan Lizosman Wan Omar, Sarawak Economic Development Corporation general manager Soedirman Aini, Sarawak Energy Berhad CEO Sharbini Suhaili, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak deputy vice chancellor Prof Mohd Fadzil Abdul Rahman and Sarawak Immigration director Ken Leben.

There were 12 recipients for the Panglima Setia Bintang Sarawak (PSBS), which carries the title “Dato”.

They are Malaysia’s only George Cross recipient Awang Raweng, Yong Piaw Soon, Tan Jit Kee, Chieng Buong Toon, Marcus Leong, Musa Giri, Datin Dr Munirah Mohd Hassan, Ustaz Ismawi Duet, Ustaz Mustapha Kamal

Ahmad Fauzi, Sulaiman Narawi, Janang Bungsu and Philimon Nuing.

Other awards are the Johan Bintang Sarawak (two recipients), Johan Bintang Kenyalang (13), Pingat Perkhidmatan Cemerlang (Gold) (20), Pegawai Bintang Sarawak (21) and Pegawai Bintang Sarawak (Posthumous) (one), Pegawai Bintang Kenyalang (57), Pingat Perkhidmatan Bakti (Silver) (177), Ahli Bintang Sarawak (182), Ahli Bintang Kenyalang (90), Pingat Perkhidmatan Terpuji (Bronze) (232) Pingat Perkhidmatan Terpuji (Bronze) (Posthumous) (two) and Bentara Bintang Sarawak (193).