Sarawak DAP ready with candidate list

MIRI: Sarawak DAP has prepared its candidate list for GE14 and will not contest in the hot seat of Miri.

State DAP deputy chairman Chiew Ching Sing said the party would make way Parti Keadilan Rakyat to defend the Miri seat it had won in the 2013 general election.

In GE13, Miri PKR chief Dr Teo Yu Keng defeated Sarawak United Peoples Party (SUPP) secretary-general Datuk Sebastian Ting by 1,944 votes.

Chiew said that although DAP was not contesting the seat, it would still help PKR campaign as a Pakatan partner.

“Sarawak DAP now holds five urban seats — Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Sibu, Lanang and Sarikei — and are confident of defending it as well as making inroads in a few more seats,” he said.

Chiew, who is also Tanjong Batu assemblyman, said Sarawak DAP would contest in all the seats it currently held.

Currently, Barisan Nasional holds 25 seats while DAP has 5 and PKR 1.