Sarawak BN parties to discuss next step

MIRI: Sarawak Barisan Nasional component parties are holding individual brain-storming sessions to determine their next course of action following the coalition’s defeat in 12 out of 31 parliamentary seats.

Parti Pesaka Bumiputra Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) will hold their respective meetings this week.

SUPP lost in Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Sarikei, Sibu, Lanang and Miri; PRS was defeated in Julau, Selangau and Lubok Antu; PDP (Saratok) and PBB (Mas Gading and Puncak Borneo).

PBB president Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Openg, who is Sara­wak Barisan chairman, had said that PBB would not jump to Pakatan Harapan.

It is believed that SUPP, PRS and PDP leaders will meet to discuss and endorse Johari’s stance.