‘PAS to contest same 11 seats in next state election’

Mohammad Arifiazul Paijo

MIRI: PAS Sarawak expects to maintain the number of seats the party contested in the last state election for the next state polls, said its secretary Mohammad Arifiazul Paijo.

He told The Borneo Post yesterday that the party fielded 11 candidates last time around, and will maintain its focus on the same constituencies due to existing grassroots support.

The 11 seats contested by PAS in the 2016 state election were Pantai Damai, Samariang, Muara Tuang, Sadong Jaya, Sebuyau, Beting Maro, Kakus, Jepak, Samalaju, Lambir, and Pujut.

On the party’s prospects in the next state election, he said PAS expects to do much better owing to the people’s rejection of Barisan Nasional, as well as the poor performance of Pakatan Harapan at the federal level.

“The people are looking for a new platform. The year 2020 will be a time for PAS to stand out in Sarawak politics as the state election is expected to happen next year,” he said.

Mohammad Arifiazul said PAS is out to prove that it is now well-accepted by Sarawakians, while also touting the party’s experience in ruling Kelantan for more than 20 years.

“The PAS government in Terengganu is led by a Menteri Besar who is an aerospace expert, which shows PAS is a party that is very much in the present,” he added.

The post ‘PAS to contest same 11 seats in next state election’ appeared first on Borneo Post Online.

Source: https://www.theborneopost.com/2019/12/31/pas-to-contest-same-11-seats-in-next-state-election/