Organisers expect 52 teams for Sibu athletics open

The two-day event will be held on Sept 7 and 8 in Stadium Tun Zaidi here.

Sibu Amateur Athletic Association secretary Ting Siew Nguong said yesterday that a total of 52 teams from schools, sports clubs and associations are expected to take part in the annual event.

“We have sent out invitations to them and all they need to do now is to register their participation online at before Aug 18,” he said.

Forty-seven of the teams are from the state with one each from Klang, Bukit Jalil Sports School, Sabah Sports School, Melaka Sports School and Tengku Mahkota Sports School.

The Sarawakian teams are from Betong, Bintulu, Dalat, Julau, Kanowit, Kuching, Meradong, Miri, Mukah, Samarahan, Sarikei, Sebauh, Serian and Sibu.

The championship is divided into several categories — Men’s and Women’s Open, Boys’ and Girls’ Under-11 and Under-14.

The champion for the Men’s and Women’s Open categories will receive RM500, second RM300 and third RM200.

Cash prize for the Boys’ and Girls’ Under-11 from first to third are RM200, RM150 and RM100 respectively while those for the Under-14 are RM300, RM200 and RM100.

There is also a special event which is the Heavyweight 100M Open. This event is for those with a body weight of more than 100kg, but only 16 contestants will be accepted.