Organiser announces finalists of Anak S’wak Awards 2018

( #1

Lee (third left) and Amelia (third right) show the Anak Sarawak Awards 20158 trophies to the camera. With them are (from left) SCB head of business development Anedia Kahar, TriBE 2018 co-chairpersons Jemima Rinai Joseph and Jonathan Soon, as well as Christina Jennifer who is SCB executive private assistant to the chairman and the COO.

KUCHING: The finalists for the ninth edition of ‘Anak Sarawak Awards’ have been officially announced.

Assistant Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture Datuk Lee Kim Shin views the programme as one of the platforms that honours and appreciates the contributions of industry partners, convention hosts and the media – all holding equal stakes in developing the business events sector, which covers meetings, exhibitions, congresses and conventions.

“With everyone having different roles, but united under one single goal, our contributions would propel the sector and Sarawak forward in great strides,” he said in a statement.

On the significance of the Ninth Anak Sarawak Awards, Lee pointed out that beyond recognition, this edition could be regarded as an avenue for sector partners to gain greater exposure, build new alliances, enhance their brands, and co-develop the sector.

An initiative by Sarawak Convention Bureau (SCB), Anak Sarawak Awards 2018 will take place this Aug 24, in conjunction with Sarawak’s inaugural Tribal Meet (TriBE) 2018, set to gather over 200 delegates from associations, industry partners and media with the aim of facilitating Sarawak’s digital economic transformation through business events.

Meanwhile SCB chief operating officer (COO) Amelia Roziman is proud to see what started out as an appreciation initiative for local hosts who had won bids, has now become a benchmark of excellence for the business events sector.

“We would like to thank all our sector partners for their excellence and dedication, especially in the recent years, as evidenced from our performance and the number of quality submissions that we have received.

“I would like to congratulate the finalists, as well as the nominees for the ‘Outstanding Achievement’ awards, which will be announced at the ceremony (on Aug 24),” she said, adding that the awards would recognise the sector’s excellence in 2016 and last year.

The finalists for Business Events Journalism Award (Print/Online) category are Najihah Abdullah Sani (‘Sarawak Business Event Sector Sprints Ahead’ – Focus Malaysia), Puvaneswary S Selvadurai (‘An Outstanding Tribe’ – TTG Asia Media), and Yvonne Tuah Merawin (‘Biz Events: What’s Next for Sarawak’ – The Borneo Post).

For the ‘Young Leader Scholarship Award’, those vying for the win are Jeremy Jamaludin of CPH Travel Agencies, Prescilla Susanti Sulau of Ecogreen Holidays Sdn Bhd, and Rachel Frankie of Bung Bratak Cultural Group.

The finalists for the ‘Meeting Venues of Excellence Award’ are Hilton Hotel Kuching and Imperial Hotel Miri; while for the ‘Products and Services of Excellence Award’ category, the fight is between Bung Bratak Cultural Group, Edwin Lay Photography and Paradesa Borneo.

The ‘Corporate Events of Excellence Award’ gathers nominees ‘Big Walk with Difference 2017’ (Cat City Holidays Sdn Bhd), the ‘24th IUPAC International Conference on Chemistry Education 2016 Conference Tours’ (CPH Travel Agencies), and the ‘55th International Congress and Convention Association 2016 Welcoming Dinner’ (Spiral Arts & Design).

The finalists for the ‘Convention of Excellence Award’ are ‘55th International Congress and Convention Association Congress 2016’ (CPH Travel Agencies), ‘College of Surgeons Academy of Medicine Malaysia Annual Scientific Congress’ (College of Surgeon Academy of Medicine Malaysia), and ‘TedX Kenyalang’ (Koperasi Pro Belia Inovatif Sarawak).

For more information on TriBE 2018, go to or contact TriBE 2018 conference organiser Terence Lim of Borneo Tru Events on 013-8393365.