Miri ends as overall champion


Miri ends as overall champion

35th Sarawak Schools Sports Council (MSSS) Athletics Meet

SARIKEI: With a total of 410.5 points Miri contingent emerged as the overall champion in the 35th Sarawak Schools Sports Council (MSSS) Athletics Meet that ended at the Sports Complex here yesterday.

Second-placed Kuching contingent collected 324.5 points and Sibu with 262 points was in third place.

In fourth to eleventh positions respectively were Sarikei (246); Samarahan (226); Betong (142); Limbang (103); Bintulu (97.5); Mukah (67.5); Kapit (49) and Sri Aman (32.5)

Miri also led in the medal tally with 35 gold, 21 silver, 23 bronze followed by Kuching (23 gold, 18 silver, 20 bronze); Sibu (15 gold, 18 silver, 17 bronze); Sarikei (13 gold, 20 silver, 15 bronze); Samarahan (13 gold, 17 silver, 11 bronze); Betong (10 gold, 9 silver, 7 bronze); Limbang (7 gold, 7 silver, 7 bronze); Bintulu (4 gold, 3 silver, 10 bronze); Mukah (3 gold, 6 silver, 4 bronze); Kapit (2 gold, 2 silver, 4 bronze) and Sri Aman (2 silver, 5 bronze).

Fourteen meet records were rewritten over the four days - two less than last year.

Miri athletes rewrote six of them including two by Ngu Mee Zing who bettered the Under-18 girls shotputt record from 10.88 meters to 11.00 meters and the discus record from 33.72 meters to 34.42 meters; two by Kee Siew Lian who bettered the Under-15 Girls 100M event from 13.02s to 12.70s and 200M from 26.83s to 26.60s; two by Ambrose Jilom who improved the Under-15 Boys 100M record from 11.00s to 10.90s and 200M record from 23.15s to 22.60s; and one by Wong Yew Hui who cleared a height of 29.1 meters in the Under-18 girls pole vault event to improve the old mark by 0.01 meter.

Two record breakers from Sibu were Chrisman Meluda who clocked 4:25.50s in the Under-15 Boys 1500M event to improved the old time of 4:30.06s and Ngu Chee Yan who finished the Under-18 Girls 110M Hurdles race in 14.20s to beat the old time of 14.60s

Mukahs Berson Akang completed the Under-15 Boys 5,000 meters Walk race in 26:06.10s to beat the old record of 26:26.62s.

Vannysia Ulau of Limbang finished the Under-14 girls 100M Hurdles race in 15.30s to erase the previous record of 16.20s. and 200M Hurdles in 30.40s to beat the old time of 31.10s.

One Kuching athlete in the record breakers list was Asfarina Jitvil who improved the Under-12 Girls 200M record from 28.01s to 27.60s and host Sarikei has its Under 15 Boys 4 x 400M quartet in the list. They won the race in 3:39.40s to beat the old record of 3:39.65s.

Miri won four of the Eight Best Athletes awards, two by Limbang athletes and one each by Betong and Kuching athletes.

Best Athletes Awards winners from Miri were Ambrose Jilom (Under-15 Boy); Muhd Muzzakir Padil (Under-18 Boy); Kee Siew Lian (Under-15 Girl) and Ngu Zee Ming (Under-18 Girl) while two winners from Limbang were Vannysia Ulau (Under-14 Girl) and Mohd Shamirul (Under-14 Boy); one from Betong was Mahrup Bakeri (Under-12 Boy) and a winner from Kuching was Asfarina Jitvil (Under-12 Girl).

Sarikei Divisional Education Officer, Bedui Une who officially closed the meet presented the prizes. He represented State Education director, Rabiah Joharito.