Lihan, Ngau pride of Long Bedian

MIRI: Senator Datuk Lihan Jok and Telang Usan assemblyman Dennis Ngau have been hailed as the most accomplished among the Long Bedian folk, having contributed so much for the betterment of the rural community.

The inaugural Pride of Long Bedian awards, organised by Gerak Desa Wawasan Kampung Long Bedian Committee and Daleh Long Bedian Social and Welfare Committee, was held at a hotel here last Friday to commemorate the achievements of 11 professionals and successful individuals hailing from Long Bedian.

The dinner event also celebrated the launch of the Jom Balik Kampung campaign here.

Lihan, 57, is celebrated as being the first person from Long Bedian to be elected assemblyman, where he oversaw Telang Usan for two terms from 2001 to 2011.

His successor Dennis, 46, was presented with the Bedian Torch Bearer 2015 award, in recognition of his efforts in aiding the rural area move towards progress and prosperity.

Other honorees that night were Deputy Miri Resident Emang Uyo Emang, Laing Jok, Reverand Jok Wan, Jok Eng Jok, Mathew Laing Jok, Jok Jau, Dr Morris Steve Utep, Richard Ngau and Julian Lihan.

Assistant Minister of Public Utilities (Electricity and Telecommunications) Datuk Dr Stephen Rundi, in his speech, reminded Long Bedian youths from to look up to these successful individuals as icons.

Strive to follow their examples and make them your inspiration to become more successful in your undertakings, he said at the event, which was also attended by Baram MP Anyi Ngau.