How far can i go with a kit lens?

I’m new at DSLR photographing, don even have my own dslr yet, still consider on buying D3000… I wish to learn, and my budget is limited… If i get a D3000 that comes with AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens, how far can i go? can i shoot moving object? can i shoot macro photos? Is it a must to get a better lens? I hope some pro photographer give me some advice, whether i should buy a DSLR or just stick to my P&S camera (Canon IXUS 100 IS) I wish to take detailed photos…

“… to infinity and beyond…” well sort of. You find the 18~55 lens very useful in general photography. If you are creative and find how to use it, it’ll go to “infinity & beyond”! Most lenses (if not all) can shoot moving object, macro and much more if you know how to use it properly. As you develop your skills you will slowly find the need to get more lenses. 3000D is a good budget camera for beginners and will serve as a good backup camera for amateur, semi-pro and pros too. If you are serious about photography, don’t waste your time & money with IXUS.

icic, thx for your advice ^^

Get to know your cam well, learn the basic of photography… combine both, you’ll get creativity…

Cheers…

I agreed with lasting99. Start off with a kit lens until u know what lens u need in the future. There’s not much marco that you can shoot, but i believe there’s reversal ring for you to mount ur lens to shoot macro but thats for you to discover later on. Check out that camera review in http://www.dpreview.com and get down to the shop and hold and feeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeel the camera… see if u like it or not… appearance should be taking into consideration when ur buying a camera too. A little bit of research before buying. Tat’s what u need. Good luck.