Eight clusters register new cases

KUCHING: Eight of the 24 active Covid-19 clusters in the state registered new cases yesterday, with the Gelong Cluster in Kapit recording the most at 19, said Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC).

The other active clusters with new cases were the Kejatau Cluster in Sri Aman with 10; Pasai Cluster, Sibu (5); Jan Yong Cluster, Kapit (4); Jalan Green Cluster, Kuching (3); Univista Cluster, Samarahan (3); Kampung Sungai Maong Cluster, Kuching (1); and Sebangkoi Cluster, Sri Aman (1).

SDMC in delivering its Covid-19 daily update said the Gelong Cluster now has a cumulative total of 83 cases from a total of 130 persons tested.

The remaining 47 had tested negative.

For Kejatau Cluster, it now has 19 cases from a total of 92 persons tested, with 40 tested negative and another 33 still awaiting their lab test results.

The Pasai Cluster in Sibu remains the largest in Sarawak with the five new cases bringing its cumulative infections to 2,640.

“A total of 37,000 individuals have been screened for the virus – 34,000 were tested negative and 360 individuals are still waiting for their laboratory results,” it said in a statement.

The Jan Yong Cluster in Kapit now has a cumulative of 19 cases from the 75 persons tested. Fifty-four were found negative while two are still waiting for their test results.

The Jalan Green Cluster which stemmed from a group fight on Valentine’s Day in Kuching now has a total of 15 infections following the three new cases yesterday.

This cluster has seen 148 persons tested with 70 of them negative and another 63 awaiting lab test results, said SDMC.

“For the Univista Cluster in Samarahan, we have detected three more positive cases, bringing the cumulative number detected so far to 55. The total number of individuals screened is 250 with 195 tested negative,” it said.

As for the Kampung Sungai Maong Cluster, Kuching, the sole new case yesterday raised its cumulative to 41 from 150 persons tested. Ninety-four were tested negative and 15 are awaiting their test results.

The Sebangkoi Cluster now has a total of 34 cases with the addition of one yesterday, from the screening of 564 persons.

The active clusters in Sarawak that did not register any new cases yesterday were the Geronggang Cluster and Mas Merah Cluster in Sibu; Kidurong Dua Cluster and Jun Heng Cluster in Bintulu; Nanga Lijan Cluster, Julau; Seruas Cluster, Beluru; Bintang Daily Cluster, Meradong; Jalan Pengiran Cluster, Matu; Tabong Cluster, Bau; Indah Riang Cluster and Stutong Cluster in Kuching; Bedayan Cluster, Serian; Rakut Cluster, Jelita Cluster and Bah Sayap Cluster in Miri; and Bukit Sekubong Cluster, Sebauh.

The Tangap Sub-Cluster in Subis, from the Pasai Cluster, also did not register any new case.

The post Eight clusters register new cases appeared first on Borneo Post Online.

Source: https://www.theborneopost.com/2021/02/22/eight-clusters-register-new-cases/

© Copyright 2006-2020 MiriCommunity.net · A JacksonLiaw.com project.