Covid-19: Julau reverts to orange zone

Bernama file photo shows a health worker conducting a Covid-19 swab test.

KUCHING (May 14): Julau district has reverted to orange zone from red after recording 40 new Covid-19 cases in the past two weeks, said the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC).

This brings the total number of red zones to 27, and one orange zone.

The red zones were Tatau, Tebedu, Betong, Pusa, Bau, Belaga, Sebauh, Sri Aman, Lundu, Pakan, Song, Bukit Mabong, Kanowit, Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu which recorded a total of 6,782.

Julau is the sole orange zone with 35 cases recorded in the past 14 days.

The 10 yellow zones were Lawas, Matu, Tanjung Manis, Simunjan, Marudi, Asajaya, Dalat, Daro, Lubok Antu, and Limbang, with a total of 53 cases.

The two green zones were Kabong and Telang Usan.

The Health Ministry categorises a district with no Covid-19 cases as a green zone, and over a two-week period, with one to 20 local transmission cases as yellow, 21 to 40 as orange and 41 and more as red.

Meanwhile, the police had issued nine compounds in the state over the last 24 hours, where six were in Kuching, two in Betong and one in Padawan for violating the Covid-19 standard operating procedures (SOP).

Breakdown according to offences were dining-in during the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) period (5), caught outside without reasonable purpose past 10pm (2), not registering with MySejahtera (1) and not updating the customer record book (1).

“The total number of compounds issued by the police since the Movement Control Order (MCO) was implemented in March 18, 2020 to-date was 6,509,” said SDMC in a statement today.

Over the same period of time, the Local Government and Housing Ministry issued 19 compounds where five were by the Betong District Council, Kapit District Council (3), Marudi District Council (2), Lawas District Council (2), Kuching South City Council (2), Padawan Municipal Council (2), Bintulu (1), Lundu District Council (1) and Serian District Council (1).

The offences were not putting full details in the record book (8), not wearing face mask (5), exceeding the allowed operating hours (3), not registering using MySejahtera or record book (1), dining-in during the CMCO period (1) and thermometer not functioning (1).

This brings the total number of compounds issued since Feb 1 to-date to 480.


© Copyright 2006-2020 · A project.