CM’s wife leads list of TYT award recipients

Taib presents the ‘Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang’ award to Juma’ani.

SIBU: The wife of Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg led the list of award recipients from Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud in conjunction with his 82nd birthday celebration here yesterday.

Datin Patinggi Juma’ani Tuanku Bujang, who is also president of Association of Wives of Ministers and Assistant Ministers of Sarawak (Sabati), received the ‘Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang’ award, which carries the honorific title of ‘Datuk Amar’, from Taib during the investiture ceremony held at RH Hotel.

The Panglima Negara Bintang Sarawak (PNBS) award was presented to Bintulu MP Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing, and also to former assistant minister of welfare and women affairs Datuk Sharifah Mordiah Tuanku Fauzi. This award carries the honorific title of ‘Dato Sri’.

Taib awards the PNBS medal to Tiong.

Meanwhile, there were four recipients of the Panglima Gemilang Bintang Kenyalang (PGBK) award, which carries the title ‘Datuk’ – Betong MP Robert Lawson Chuat, Pantai Damai assemblyman Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi, former Sarawak Timber Industry Development Corporation (STIDC) general manager Datuk Abdullah Abdul Rahim, and Federation of Miri Division Chinese Associations president Hii Teck Yun.

The recipients of the Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak (DJBS) award for senior civil servants, which carries the title ‘Datu’, were Sarawak State Cabinet Meeting Committee secretary Sutin Shamat, Ministry of Urban Development and Natural Resources permanent secretary Wan Liz Osman Wan Omar, Sarawak Economic and Development Corporation (SEDC) general manager Soedirman Aini, Sarawak Energy Bhd (SEB) chief executive officer Sharbini Suhaili, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas) deputy vice-chancellor Prof Mohd Fadzil Abdul Rahman, and Sarawak Immigration Department director Ken Leben.

Malaysia’s sole George Cross Medal recipient Sgt (Rtd) Awang Raweng led the list of recipients of the Panglima Setia Bintang Sarawak (PSBS) award, which carries the title ‘Dato’.

Awang (in wheelchair) in a photo-call with Jabu (centre), Empiang (second right), and Stephen Mundaw (left).

Awang Raweng, 93, a former Iban Scout with the 10th Platoon, Company D, Worcestershire Regiment Battalion 1, received the George Cross Medal from Queen Elizabeth II of England.

When met by reporters after the presentation ceremony yesterday, Awang expressed his gratitude for the honour, thanking Taib for the award.

The other PSBS recipients were Yong Piaw Soon, Tan Jit Kee, Chieng Buong Toon, Marcus Leong, Musa Giri, Datin Dr Munirah Mohd Hassan, Ismawi Duet, Mustapha Kamal Ahmad Fauzi, Sulaiman Narawi, Janang Bungsu and Philimon Nuing.

Besides Awang, the contributions and sacrifices of two other heroes of the ‘Insurgency Era’ were also honoured – the two recipients were former Sarawak Special Branch chief Dato Sri Alli Kawi, and ASP Mohamad Johnny Mustapha.

Alli, who played a leading role in carrying out the commemoration of the North Borneo Communist Party (PKKU) in Sri Aman and Kuching divisions, led by Bong Kee Chok on Oct 20, 1973, was posthumously awarded with the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang medal, which carries the title ‘Datuk Amar’.

Mohamad Johnny, who was the 15th Battalion Police Field Force commanding officer based in Sibu, died during the communist attack in Stabau River, Sibu, on April 6, 1975. He also received the same posthumous award.

Taib’s wife Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Raghad Kurdi Taib, Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg, former deputy chief minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Alfred Jabu and his wife Tan Sri Empiang Jabu, as well as Eastern Field Command Commander Lt-Gen Datuk Stephen Mundaw, were among those present at the investiture ceremony.