Amway... Do-able?

As you people probably know, Amway is (already) a stable MLM in Malaysia.

Currently I’ve just joined Amway after being coaxed by a good friend and colleague for the past two years. (Partially to shut him up as well.)

However when I studied the business plan they offered, it seemed too good to be true, a self supported business venture, that is RISK FREE. I admit, the ‘risk free’ part got me (well, it qualifies as risk free for the first year of membership + not being an idiot and stockpiling on stuff before you get your customers.)

On a personal level, I have never taken any products from Amway, and I was skeptical about them, that was until I learned a few series of their products are already currently ranked the top products in the globe. However not being a user myself meant a delayed time before I could tell others of the business of my own experience in this.

Prior to agreeing to join, I did a quick search online on the people’s views and comments on Amway itself. I was shocked to find SCAM labeled all over it.

However after a few reads and more reads on people’s self published blogs, articles and comments, it seems they shared somewhat the same points :

1. Flawed logic that defies gravity.

For example, some people who failed in making any money via Amway are blaming the system of Amway and labeling it as a scam. However at a closer look, it seems that all they imply are that uplines are forcing them to buy books, CDs, attend unnecessary seminars, travel for hours just to attend a meeting, etc. One article even featured the ex wife of a broken man who lost everything (family included) and got into debts through Amway.