Adenan presents S’wak Hornbill Tourism Awards

KUCHING: Normah Medical Specialist Centre (NMSC) and Sarawak Tourism Federation advisor and former State Legislative Assembly (DUN) Secretary, Lim Kian Hock were each presented with the Hornbill Special Award during the 6th Sarawak Hornbill Tourism Award 2013/2014 Night held at the Borneo Convention Centre Kuching (BCCK) on Sunday.

Lim received RM10,000, a trophy and a certificate while NMSC received a trophy and a certificate. The awards were presented by Chief Minister, Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Haji Adenan Satem.

Meanwhile, 31 other individuals and organisations also received their awards in nine different categories and 40 sub-categories. All the 31 award winners each received RM5,000, a trophy and a certificate.

For the Outstanding Hotel and Accommodations Provider Category which is divided into sub-categories (5-Star, 4-Star, 3 Star, 2&1-Star and Orchid rated, Homestay, Bed and Breakfast), the winner of the 5-star hotel category was Miri Marriot Resort and Spa.

The winner of the 4-star hotel was Imperial Palace Hotel, Miri while New World Suites Hotel, Bintulu won the 3-star hotel category.

Meanwhile, the 2&1-star and Orchid-rated category winner was Greenland Inn, Kapit.

The Homestay category was won by Rumah Benjamin Angki, Sibu while the Bed and Breakfast category winner was Batik Boutique, Kuching.

Meanwhile, for the Outstanding Destination Management Company Category, which is divided into sub-categories (Domestic, Best and Creative Package, Europe, North East Asia, ASEAN), the winner for the Domestic category was CPH Travel Agencies (Sarawak) Sdn Bhd.

The Europe category was won by MTS Travel Holland), the North East Asia category by Happy Holidays Shanghai and the ASEAN category by Pan Bright Travel Service Brunei.

Meanwhile, for the Outstanding Tourist Guides category, which was also divided into sub-categories, the winner of the City/Heritage Guide category was Azhar Nor Mostapha Nor.

For the Nature Guide category, the winner was Nanot@ Lemon Praddy Ales while for the Park Guide category, the winner was Henry Lah Lucin.

Meanwhile, for the Outstanding Food Outlet, in the sub-category of Restaurant, Mesian Restaurant Kuching was the winner while in the Cafe/Bistro category, the winner was Ming Cafe, Miri.

For the Kopitiam category, the winner was Payung Cafe, Sibu while the winner for the Food Court Category was The Spring Food Bazaar, Kuching.

For the Outstanding Cottage Industry, in the sub-category of Artisan, Bahar Saringan was the winner while for the Souvenir Products category, the winner was Mohammad Julaihee.

The winner for the Cottage Industry (Food) category was Titek Sandora Haji Apit.

For the Outstanding Transport Contribution, under the Longboat/Speedboat category, the winner was Muhammad Pauzan.

For the Outstanding Media Contribution Category, Salmah Bojeng and Sariee Jimi were the winners for the Tourism Related Video category while Zulazhar Sheblee won the Photography category.

Ho Choon Ping won the Print Media (Local) category while Monocle won the Print Media (International) category.

For the Online Media (Local) category, David Hogan Jr. was the winner while the winner for the Online Media (International) category was Caroline Baum.

And lastly for the Outstanding Tourism Attraction and Events category, under the National Parks and Forest Reserves category, the winner was Bako National Park.

The winner for the Recreational Parks and Gardens category was the Kuching Waterfront while the winner for the Events and Festivals category was Sarawak Regatta.

Meanwhile, the winner in the Heritage sites category was Siniawan Old Town. The Sarawak Hornbill Tourism Awards was jointly organised by the State Tourism Ministry and Sarawak Tourism Federation; it was meant to appreciate and award individuals and organisations who/which contributed to the development of the state tourism industry and to create a culture of excellence, creativity, quality services and best practices.

  • Minister of Housing/Tourism Datuk Amar Abang Haji Johari Tun Openg presents a souvenir to Chief Minister, Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Haji Adenan Satem (front, fourth right).