A humble start

Sunday February 28, 2010
A humble start

WHEN I was 26 and starting out as an architect, I never imagined Id be handling a project such as this! Teo A. Khing reminisces.

Teo was the youngest of 10 children in a household headed by his fisherman father and grandfather. The post-Japanese Occupation years were tough and his father decided to stop fishing when Teo was 10, and opened a small grocery that was later converted into a spare parts store.

My childhood was defined by work. There was no such thing as going for tuition or camping trips after school as I was expected to help out in the shop. But Id always enjoyed watching people build houses.

His older siblings pooled their resources to send him for his architectural degree at the University of New South Wales in Sydney.

The funds covered Teos first year of education. During the holidays he earned for his studies through various jobs, including sorting Christmas mail at the local post office and as a machine operator in a battery factory.

It was an incredibly boring job but it taught me perseverance and getting a job done, Teo says with a smile.

Having been educated in a traditional Chinese school, his command of English was poor, so he enrolled for language classes. These paid off; in 1986, he graduated with honours and was even named Best Architectural Student.

Teo went on to become the first Malaysian to earn a masters degree in urban design at Harvard University in Massachusetts, the United States. Fascinated by his Eastern and Chinese roots, he focused on the influence of ancient geomancy on architecture for his thesis. Little wonder that his Chinese name, Ah Khing, means honouring the past.

In 1993 Teo started TAK Design Consultants with three partners and a staff of six. Four years later, the firm was hit by the Asian economic crisis. On hindsight, that was a stroke of good luck as it forced them to focus on jobs within the country, instead of expanding regionally.